Portabella Mushroom Pizza

Last May, I started writing about the things I was cooking. I thought it would be a good way to keep track of what I eat and how I prepare it in case I want to repeat it later. Then I got busy planning and training for a 2 week, 1000 mile bike trip and stopped putting thought into my food. And I certainly wasn’t writing about it. Why am I saying all this? Because now I’m going to copy all 3 of my food posts from months ago to here, and you can’t stop me. (Please excuse the slightly blurred photos. I would try to upload better ones, but I just don’t care.)

From May 4, 2012:

In an effort to (hopefully) not become allergic to more things, I have been eating as organically as possible. I’m also trying to eat as many whole foods as I can, staying away from processed food.

The last time I went grocery shopping, I found organic Portabella mushrooms. Hmm… I should be able to do something with these. I stood there in the store and Googled “Portabella mushroom recipes.” Then I bought them. I had heard of making little personal pizzas with the mushroom as the crust, so I decided to try that.

Something else I never thought I would find myself Googling: “How to gill portabella mushrooms.” (This was after I had removed the gills, and was wondering if there was a better way to do it.)

The cast of characters:

1 portabella mushroom
Vegenaise (egg free, dairy free)
Honey Mustard Vinaigrette (paprika free)
Italian Seasoning (no garlic, black pepper, or anything else I can’t have)
Minced Onion
Cooked Chicken
Organic Baby Spinach
Vegan Rella Cheddar Style “cheese” (dairy free)

I lightly sprayed my pan with cooking spray, then removed the mushroom gills and laid it on the pan, ready for the toppings.
Spread a layer of Vegenaise on first, then a layer of the Honey Mustard. (I’m allergic to tomatoes, hence no tomato based sauces.)
Sprinkle on Italian Seasoning and minced onion. Next time I may put actual onions on instead, but this time I didn’t feel like cutting one up, so went with minced.
Cover with cooked chicken and chopped up spinach.
I attempted to shred the vegan cheese, but it’s pretty soft, and turned out to be not that shreddable. I added the few shreds I managed to get, then used a knife to just cut off a few more shreds and topped the pizza with the cheese.
After I had all the toppings on, I drizzled a little more of the honey mustard over everything.

Then I baked it at 350 for 12 minutes. Because 12 minutes seemed appropriate.

Put it on my favorite plate.

And… it was delicious! Seriously. I wanted another one right away. If only I had still been hungry… But I went for a bike ride instead.

Portabella pizza: YES. I’ll be making it again.

:end quote:

P.S. I did make it again. And I still like it!

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Portabella Mushroom Pizza

  1. Pingback: Portabella Mushroom Pizza: Redux | my tree house life

Leave a Reply

